painted desert - Pat Benatar
Stripes

What I am Listening to:
0 Comment?


I hear your heartbeat but you're never there.

Like a mirage you haunt me everywhere.

All day long I burn for you

lonely in the night.

I tried to live alone but I just can't get it right.

You know that this town's like a painted desert.

Dead heat

movin' in the city.

I'm lost in a painted desert

in a painted desert without you.

I've done some thinking now that you're not here.

I know your reasons and they're still not clear.

All I'm sure of is what I got to lose.

I tried to be a better loser but it's just no use.

You know that this town's like a painted desert. . . .

Walkin' the sundown

I search in vain.

Waitin' for the wind that whispers out your name.

Through concrete canyons echoing a world of other faces.

No direction looks like home

where is my oasis?

You know that this town's like a painted desert.

previous ~ next